Governance Structure

In 2022, a Joint Venture was formed between UC Berkeley and SKS Partners to oversee the development of the Berkeley Space Center. The Joint Venture is unique to the University of California system. It is a private development, where there is a shared governance and profit model between UC Berkeley and SKS.

The governance structure lays out principal responsibilities and a structure for considering major decisions and for breaking any deadlock. The Joint Venture also provides a framework that respects the primary strengths and concerns of each party, where SKS takes principal responsibility for financing, master planning and construction considerations, and UC Berkeley does the same for education, collaboration with NASA and forwarding its broader mission statement.

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is the governing board of the joint venture, Moffett Partners, LLC. It approves major decisions (e.g., annual budget, development budget) and resolves any disputes between the two managing members of the LLC.

Executive Committee Members
Nathan BrostromExecutive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, University of California
Carol ChristChancellor, University of California, Berkeley
Dan KingsleyPrincipal and Co-Founder, SKS Partners
Paul SteinPrincipal and Co-Founder, SKS Partners

Daily Representatives

For day to day management of the site, the campus designates two representatives to actively engage with SKS to implement the major decisions and ensure the project remains on mission.

Daily Representatives
Darek DeFreeceBerkeley Space Center
Robert GotelliBerkeley Space Center

Steering Committee 

The Steering Committee provides expertise on project elements including business processes, campus stakeholder engagement and current or new technical solutions. 

Steering Committee Members
Alexandre BayenAssociate Provost for Moffett Field Program Development, Berkeley Space Center
Darek DeFreeceFounder & Executive Director, Berkeley Space Center
Daniel FeitelbergInterim Vice Chancellor of Finance and Chief Financial Officer
Amy GardnerExecutive Director, University Business Partnerships & Services
Khira GriscavageAssociate Chancellor and Chief of Staff to the Chancellor, Office of the Chancellor
Rosemary KimAssistant Vice Chancellor and Chief of Staff, Office of the Chief Financial Officer
Richard LyonsAssociate Vice Chancellor for Innovation & Entrepreneurship
Dan MogulofAssistant Vice Chancellor, Office of Communications and Public Affairs
Christine TreadwayAssistant Chancellor, Government and Community Relations
Katherine YelickVice Chancellor, Research
Christopher YetterSenior Advisor to the Provost, Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost

Faculty Steering Committee

The Faculty Steering Committee provides vision and recommendations for academic engagement at Berkeley Space Center.

Faculty Steering Committee Members
Gordon RausserDistinguished Professor Emeritus, Rausser College of Natural Resources, Chair
Rebecca AbergelAssociate Professor, Department of Nuclear Engineering
James AnalytisChair and Associate Professor, Department of Physics
Mark AstaExecutive Associate Dean, College of Engineering
Jill BanfieldProfessor, Departments of Earth and Planetary Science
Alexandre BayenAssociate Provost for Moffett Field Program Development, Berkeley Space Center
Kwabena BediakoAssistant Professor, College of Chemistry
Joshua BloomChair and Professor, Department of Astronomy
Darek DeFreeceFounder & Executive Director, Berkeley Space Center
Iryna DronovaAssociate Professor of Landscape Architecture & Environmental Planning, College of Environmental Design, and Department of Environmental Science, Policy & Management, Rausser College of Natural Resources
Sandrine DudoitAssociate Dean for Faculty and Research, Division of Computing, Data Science, and Society
Panos PapadopoulosProfessor, Department of Mechanical Engineering
Ilia RoussevDirector, Space Sciences Laboratory
Raja SenguptaProfessor, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Sanjit SeshiaProfessor, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences
Richard StantonProfessor of Finance and Real Estate, Haas School of Business
Lisa WymoreProfessor, Department of Theater, Dance and Performance Studies; Faculty Advisor for Creative Discovery